1977 Omagh Scallon Cup

Photo: Derek Smyth
Nigel Duff and Lenny Weir on their way to the top spot on the Scallon Cup Rally.

Newtownabbey Pair Win Scallon Cup.

Reprinted from a newspaper report on 28 October 1977.  Photos added from the collection of D. Smyth.

Newtownabbey pair Nigel Duff and Lenny Weir in a Group one Chrysler Avenger have been announced as provisional winners of last Friday night’s Northern Ireland Navigation Championship Scallon Cup Rally run by Omagh Motor Club.  The event was hit by organisational problems.

Nigel Duff and Lenny Weir were top of the results sheet after Alcorn and Scott were penalised.

Wesley Abraham and Bob McCutcheon in an Escort RS2000 have been declared as runners-up but the entire results remain subject to protest over the next seven days.

Sixmilecross driver Roy Alcorn and Peter Scott in an RS1600 would have finished one minute ahead of Duff, but were penalised 20 marks for missing two passage controls.  It is understood they may contest this decision.

Wesley Abraham and Bob McCutcheon took a fine second place overall in their RS2000

Third place in the provisional list goes to Gary McKibben and Godfrey Crawford in an Avenger, with Bertie Law and Richard Charlesson fourth in a Vauxhall Magnum.  They finished on the same penalties as the Avenger of Joe Pat

Joe Pat O’Kane and Roy Sloan were fifth on the night after a tie decider for fourth.

O’Kane and Roy Sloan but got the higher placing on the “furthest clean” rule.

The top six is completed by Dessie Boyd and David Hadden in another Avenger.

Alcorn and Scott have been dropped to seventh with Ronnie Burney and Paul Phelan eighth in an Escort RS2000.

Early leaders Hugh O’Brien and Mike Hart were forced to pull out with engine problems.

The rally had been led initially by Hugh O’Brien and Mike Hart in an Escort RS1800 but they were forced out with a blown engine.

If the results are allowed to stand, O’Kane will move into a seven-point lead in the Northern Ireland Rally Championship with three drivers, Abraham, Law and Winston Henry, sharing second place.  Duff and Burney would share fifth place.

Driving his navigator’s car, Gary McKibben took third place overall with Godfrey Crawford on the maps.
Controversy at the finish for Roy Alcorn and Peter Scott who were deemed to have missed two passage controls.
Armagh driver Ronnie Burney has the experienced Paul Phelan on the maps and eighth place overall was the reward.
A fine sixth overall result for Dessie Boyd and Fergus McKelvey in their Chrysler Avenger.
Top seed Winston Henry moves into second place in the NI Championship by virtue of a steady run in Omagh.